Skip to content

Summer Therapy Smoothie

20 J0000008UTC 2011

It’s true. I have all but turned into a Hobbit in my little home, clicking away at prostate cancer homework, tending tomatoes in my small garden, eating way too many meals all day long. Not many humans partake in 11sies, but I do.

Today I feel ill. My elbows and toes ache; dark, sad circles have formed under my once-bright eyes; my throat scratches so that I sound like a male toad. I would go back to bed except that it is too damn hot. Sickness in summer does not have the same cozy allure that it does in winter.

When breakfast makes you want to barf, what do you do? When you can’t manage a big bowl of nutty oatmeal or a plate of eggs, sausage and kale you still have to get through the day. I still have to churn out some homework and it would be nice to help out my immune system. Despite the fact that I do not like to consume meals through a straw, I am having a smoothie. If you feel ill and want to skip breakfast or pop in a Toaster Strudel, you should have a smoothie instead.

Summer Therapy Smoothie

Put into a blender:

1 peach, skin and pit removed

8 strawberries, stems removed

1 large or 2 small kale leaves, stems removed, chopped roughly

1 carrot, chopped

1/2 cup blueberries

1/2 frozen banana

1 tsp Green Powder (I use Vitamineral Green from Pharmaca)

1 Tbsp ground flax seeds (I use Bob’s Red Mill)

1-2 scoops protein powder (I recommend undenatured whey protein)

1/2 cup R.W. Knudsen’s ‘Just Cranberry’ juice

filtered water, enough to make it the consistency you like

Blend until it looks like the smoothie you want to drink. Divide into 2 glasses so you can share it or freeze some for later. Drink slowly. Enjoy it and breathe. Start feeling better.

You can make this for any occasion, sick or well, any time of day. You can also change out the type of fruits and veggies or replace the juice with almond or coconut milk for a creamier drink. My favorite part is that I can’t taste the carrots, but I’m still eating them.

Now maybe I can get to work, get to bed or get on to some solid food.

Chow, people!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

