Skip to content

Pumpkin Pie: Hold the Cool Whip, Please

20 J00000010UTC 2011

I’m all about eating delicious food. Real, good, delicious food. For me that means it has been minimally (or not) transmogrified by the food industry, minimally (or not) altered by people in lab coats and goggles and minimally boxed, packaged, preserved or bagged. The food I now eat tends to rot quickly because a) it starts out very fresh and b) a lot of bugs and bacteria want to eat it…just like I want to eat it. That’s the point.

It was not always so…in fact, there has been a long path of fake sugars and hydrogenated fats to get me to the place where I now stand. My point? Even if I won’t eat your margarine, I won’t judge it. It’s just that I’ve had enough margarine already, thanks.

Why am I going on? Because we have to figure out something to put on top of that pumpkin pie from the last post. And whatever that something is, it is not going to be Cool-Whip or anything like it.

Cool-Whip ingredients— not nutritional info– (sorry, I don’t care as much about that): water, hydrogenated vegetable oil (including Coconut and Palm oils), high fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, skim milk, light cream, and less than 2% sodium caseinate (a milk derivative), natural and artificial flavor, xanthan and guar gums, polysorbate 60, sorbitan monostearate, and beta carotene (as a coloring).[5] In some markets, such as Canada and the United States, Cool Whip is available in an aerosol can using nitrous oxide as a propellant. For a bizarre and somewhat frightening 12-day Cool Whip experiment account, click here.

I don’t have to read past the first three ingredients before I put the container down. Water…sure, okay. Hydrogenated vegetable oil…science fat. High fructose corn syrup…science sugar. These cause major issues that lead down the road of chronic disease. There are too many good natural sugars and natural fats to ever touch this stuff again.

If you want to see the funniest-ever clip from Family Guy on Cool Whip, click here.

Back to the pie.

My first choice, because my taste has changed this much, and I don’t expect anyone else to be on board, is to top the thing with organic, whole-milk-fat, plain yogurt or plain Greek yogurt. Maybe mix in a little raw honey and sprinkle it with real nutmeg.

Probably the richest choice is real, organic 100% delicious, fat whipping cream. Beat it till it’s fluffy with a bit of real vanilla extract and a bit of agave nectar or honey. If you need more on the fact that real fat does not make you fat, go to my contact page and e-mail me, before you make yourself crazy.

Need dairy free? Try this coconut icing I used on my gluten free chocolate cupcakes. Sure, it’s not traditional, but it is delicious.

Coconut Cream Frosting from http://www.elanaspantry.com
1 cup coconut milk (canned)
1 cup agave nectar
pinch celtic sea salt
5 teaspoons arrowroot powder
1 tablespoon water
1¼ cup coconut oil

  1. In a medium saucepan, heat coconut milk, agave and salt, simmer for 10 minutes
  2. In a small bowl, combine arrowroot and water to form a smooth paste
  3. Pour arrowroot mixture into saucepan
  4. Whisk vigorously to combine, then bring to a boil, briefly, until shiny
  5. Remove pot from heat and very gradually blend in coconut oil with a hand blender
  6. Allow pot to cool for 10 minutes
  7. Place pot in refrigerator for 45-120 minutes, until frosting solidifies and turns white
  8. Remove from refrigerator and blend again with a hand blender, until fluffy

Or go rustic, like I have been, with an extra sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon. Then you can really taste just how good the pie is.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 20 J00000010UTC 2011 6:48 pm

    My pumpkin interested readers would love your recipe.

    • 20 J00000010UTC 2011 6:51 pm

      Wonderful! And now I am interested in your site…thanks.

Leave a Reply

