Skip to content

My Month Long Meat Diet

20 J0000006UTC 2011

by Norman Rockwell

My husband and I decided to embark on a spring-summer cleanse project by changing our diet around. This is a common phenomenon with both health nuts and people who are at the end of their health or fitness rope, therefore trying to change their bodies for the better. We fall somewhere between the two, being both health-aware and frustrated with a few lingering bodily mysteries like chronic congestion, runny noses, and on-again-off-again joint inflammation. Hence, the cleanse.

This is no Master Cleanse, though, not weeks-on-end of nothing but lemon juice, honey, and cayenne pepper to purge the digestive system of all the little stuck-on bits. I don’t have a deprivation philosophy and like my fasting blood glucose to stay higher than that of a zombie. So, instead of the lemon juice and peppers, we bought a Norwegian salmon, two Thanksgiving turkeys, a bunch of grass-fed beef, and three chickens. For starters.

We are also eating up our local grocery’s produce section, trying to piece together massive amounts of greens with fruits, nuts, seeds, squashes, potatoes, and oils. As our little garden is only starting to push up a few bits of arugula, kale, and the tiniest green tomatoes, we’ll be waiting a while on our own backyard salads.

Typically we have a gluten-free diet, and I don’t eat stuff from udders either. I have my reasons that I’ll probably put out there sometime. But now, we’re going a few steps deeper, taking out all grains (even gluten free grains *rice* and their products like bread, pasta, and crackers) as well as legumes (beans, lentils, peanuts, and soy), alcohol, and caffeine. Those last two are new ones for my husband…

My first thoughts, after 2 1/2 days are pretty simple:

It seems expensive. I haven’t priced it out entirely yet, but I do know that nice meat costs more than dried beans.

We tried to prepare, but we’re not really prepared. I’m having a hard time adapting to cooking for this type eating. I know there are recipes out there, but taking rice out changes our eating. A lot. I ate rice every day.

I’m just plain hungry. I’ve been hungry since we started. What does this mean? I’m not sure. Probably that I have not figured out how to eat in this way, and probably that my metabolism, hunger/satiety hormones, and belly will need some time to adapt.

On the upside, I’m eating a lot of nice meat, lots of coconut oil, lots of avocados, and a ton of fresh veggies. I also might have eaten a cantaloupe the other day.

I’ll keep you posted. I’m sure I learn something, but hopefully I won’t feel hungry during my lessons.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 20 J0000006UTC 2011 11:00 am

    Good luck with this, I have done a strict cleanse this sort-of way several times, but also primarily eat this way in my everyday. On my blog, I post recipes (and even have my March 21 day food diary) that are grain free, dairy free, legume free, nightshade free and 21 day = egg free, nut/seed-free, all low glycemic. Since we are both Bauman grads, and have the same food philosophy, I thought it may help you out 🙂 http://www.bebeingbecome.com/blog

    • 20 J0000006UTC 2011 4:06 pm

      Thanks, Brandi! I always love new recipes. I’ve done pretty strict elimination diets before, but this one is new and seems to have a lot of ‘rules’ and what I’m figuring out is that I just don’t like rules! Thanks for the reply. I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

