Skip to content

I Ate a Biscuit

20 J0000006UTC 2011

Today is day 25 of our Paleo experiment and I have a confession to make. It goes like this:

My husband took me to breakfast at Lucile’s this past Sunday and we were lucky enough to get one of the

Lucile’s in Boulder, CO

tables on the porch. Lucille’s is great because they have simple cloth napkins, french pressed coffee, a salmon option on the breakfast menu, and the biggest, fluffiest house-made biscuits you’ve ever seen– the kind that are browned and crunchy on top, soft in the middle, and about as big as your face.

I ate this pre-meditated biscuit. I knew the night before I would break our Paleo experiment and get one. I even eat a gluten free, dairy free diet about 98% of the time to keep my joints from aching. While on a walk with my hubby the night before I said, “By the way, if you take me to Lucile’s, I’m ordering whatever I want, Paleo or not. If you are going to feel like you have to stop me, or that you won’t be able to handle my choices, then we probably shouldn’t go.” He said that no, he was okay with all of it, so we went and I got a biscuit. It was so, so, so good.

from biteintoboulder.com

The best part about it is that my biscuit, when set on the table by our waitress, smelled of butter, straight butter. I dressed with their in-house strawberry rhubarb jam and it was so good while the rest of my breakfast was only…meh. I ate the whole thing (as big as my face) and enjoyed every bite. After we left I went back to our Paleo experiment. I did not self-destruct.

It was really not going to be worth it in life to make myself utterly crazy by attempting perfectionism by trying to adhere to some stupid “diet” if all I wanted was some stupid biscuit. Unless it was going to close my trachea, rip out the lining of my small intestines, or pop out my eyeballs, it’s way better to enjoy breakfast and have a biscuit. I was much better company that way, too.

The point is this: If you are following, or trying to follow, some diet, program, lifestyle, way of eating, or whatever you want to call it, be kind to yourself. If you are going to lose your mind over a glass of milk or be a bitch to everyone around you over a cookie, then you might need to re-evaluate what you’re doing and why you’re doing it. Maybe your diet is too strict; maybe your calorie intake is too low; maybe you’re doing it for someone else; maybe you need some new recipes; maybe you just need a nap.

So, I’m probably telling you this because I need to hear it myself. That’s okay. It’s usually how life works.

Till next time, chow and enjoy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mel permalink
    20 J0000006UTC 2011 9:59 am

    The American biscuit: quite possibly the 8th man-made wonder of the world.

    • 20 J0000006UTC 2011 10:26 am

      Or probably woman-made!

Leave a Reply

