Skip to content

Dealing with Paleo Monsters

20 J0000009UTC 2011

During my month of discovering Paleo and eating as much like a caveman as a twenty-first century woman can and still function in society, little did I know I was creating two Paleo monsters right under my own roof. As I exited my month of mostly meat and veg, my husband began saying things like, “I think I’ll keep doing this…forever,” and his five year old started saying things like, “I don’t eat rice anymore,” never requesting cereal or oatmeal at breakfast…only sausage. And pickles.

So, I’ve got two type O meat-monkeys on my hands while sometimes I’d just like a nice bowl of brown rice, avocado, and black beans. No big deal. Or is it?

What has begun to happen is that, regardless of each of our individual eating needs, we all end up crossing food boundaries we’re better off not crossing. When I go all Paleo all the time, I get bloated and gain weight and need to actually act like a cavewoman for it to play nicely with my metabolism and physique. When my hubby deviates from Paleo, he gains weight, gets snotty, and feels all crappy. So, not having rice in the house isn’t that great– and having corn in the house isn’t that great either.

I’ve found myself making meals that my meat monkeys love, even though the same meals make my stomach sink a bit. As I write, I’m cooking up some dee-licious meatballs to be served in a tomatoey sauce over spaghetti squash. It’s tasty. It’s Paleo-tastic. My people love this meal. For me, it leaves a lot to be desired.

We just finished eating. I feel meh, like I need a shower and an apple. My husband, and I quote, says, “I think I could eat this everyday,” then, “Wow, that’s like power dinner for me!” The kid just asks for more meatballs, not minding their inner pinkness a bit. Enough said. If you eat Paleo-style and you like meatballs, hopefully you’ll enjoy this recipe.

 

For the spaghetti squash:

Buy a nice looking spaghetti squash, easier to find going into the fall. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut squash in half from stem to butt. Lay it face down on a rimmed cookie sheet in an inch-or-so of water. Bake for 50 minutes, then flip face-up. Bake for ten more minutes. Allow to cool, then scrape out guts with a fork. It should come out in stringy strands, looking much like spaghetti but, you know, squash.

Spaghetti Squash

For the meatballs:

Combine in a large mixing bowl 1 lb grass fed ground beef, 2 eggs, 1/3 c almond meal, 2 Tbsp finely chopped onion, 2 cloves squashed garlic, 1/2 tsp sea salt, 5 leaves chopped basil. Moosh this around with your (clean) hands till it’s all combined. If it seems too wet and yucky, add some almond flour until it’s squishy and sticks together, but not wet and soggy. These are technical cooking terms. Roll into little balls and cook in heated coconut oil, turning occasionally to brown on all sides.

Paleo Balls

For the sauce:

Use any red sauce you like. I keep it simple by combining olive oil, garlic, two cans organic whole peeled tomatoes (cut up), sea salt, and balsamic vinegar or red wine. Heat through and top with fresh basil. You can also buy something in a jar if you want something simpler or blanch and peel your own garden-grown tomatoes, cook your sauce, then can the rest and store it with your peaches and jam in the basement, if your that kind of person I don’t tolerate very well. It’s up to you.

I’m sure this is exactly how Paleolithic people ate! Assemble all three and salt as needed. I advise serving this with a large green salad or chasing it with some chocolate and fruit but, if you’re like me, a small bowl of this will stuff you to capacity. If you’re not like me, eat up and enjoy your power meal!

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. 20 J0000009UTC 2011 12:00 pm

    Hi Kris, Can you send me your delicious red cabbage recipe? I actually stole some from you when I gave the bowl back and ate it the next day for lunch.

    So great to see you at the dinner party. I really liked Gwen, she and the animals seem to hit it off well.

    Thanks, Deb

Leave a Reply

